Lanterns

12 09 2016

lanterns3

New painting based on a photo I took in San Francisco. Not sure if it’s finished or not. I HATE the area of the bottom left of the building, but that’s more or less what the photo looks like, and I’m not good enough with architecture to make it up (hence another “no rulers or measuring” painting.) Here’s the full piece:

lanterns2

Thought I’d include some process pics:

So, I below are these crappy old paintings I had sitting around (and ref photos). The blue one is an underpainting of a potato plant. Was going to be a potato forest. Will be painted over. The purple one was an assignment for a non-art class in college (a painting of a painting) and I have always hated it. I gessoed over it, and it became the lanterns!

old scrap paintings

Here are some underpainting levels:

lanterns WIP1

lanterns WIP2

lanterns WIP4

Then come the lanterns!

lanterns WIP5

lanterns WIP6

And so forth…I think I should do more traditional stuff.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

