Pie Society

21 04 2016

Hello, World! I apologize for my absence. Just got over some of the craziest weeks of my life, and if I wasn’t taking this afternoon off work, I probably wouldn’t have had time to blog for another week or so. Anyway, onto a more important thing: PIE!

savannah12

And not just any pie. I’m talking about British pie. Specifically, Pie Society pie! As Americans, most of us think of pie as that fruit filled dessert you eat at a summer picnic or during Thanksgiving. Apple pie, cherry pie, pumpkin. Good stuff. But in England they have savory pies too. In my trip to England in 2013, I fell in love with Cornwall and, in particular, the Cornish pasty, a savory pie shaped kind of like a calzone. I have been craving one ever since. Like, seriously! I tried to make them once, but it just wasn’t the same.

savannah1

Enter Pie Society in Savannah, Georgia. They have another location about 15 minutes north of Savannah in Pooler, GA, which is the original. It’s run by actual British people, so you know the pies are legit. I came in with high expectations.

savannah2

It’s a small place – a counter to order at, a few tables to sit at and bar style seating at the window, and cute decorations.

savannah7

savannah9

I’d read online that you need to get there early in the day, because options sell out quickly. Driving from Jacksonville, we made it by 11 a.m. which was a bit on the late side. There were a constant stream of people in/out, some of them having ordered in advance, which I think is a good idea if you want something specific. Not everything on the menu, below, is available at once.

savannah8

savannah11

Luckily, they still had what I was going for: Cornish pasty! In England, I’d had one with potato, onion, and cheese. Traditionally, the standard pasty has ground beef in it. Pie Society’s pasties have ground beef, but they have a breakfast pasty that looks a little different but comes with the potato + cheese combo. There was only 1 left!

savannah3

Oh, yes. Very beautiful. And inside, the perfect filling, warm and cheesy with herbs too:

savannah4

So rich and tasty! Exactly what I’d been craving! Also tried a scone, complete with cream and jam:

savannah5

Gotta say though, the savory stuff is where it’s at. We brought a cooler especially for the trip and took some things home for dinner.

savannah10

By 11 a.m., they were already out of a lot. Very popular! But shortly after, someone brought some freshly put together pies to bake:

savannah6

Trays of unbaked, future tastiness. Yum! Anyway, we took home 3 things.

The first night, we baked (well, heated up – they were already cooked) the Cauliflower Broccoli Bake:

savannah60

(Which was delicious…though I failed to take a pic of the inside) and a Chicken and Thyme pie, which I completely failed to get a pic of! Must have been too hungry. It was amazing, I can tell you that. And very filling.

Then we got 2 Cornish Pasties for the next night, one for each of us. They are huge!

savannah61

So good!

savannah62

I realize the lighting isn’t so appetizing looking in that last pic, but it really was good. Beef, some onion I think, peas, and a few carrots. Mostly meat and sauce, but soooo lovely. We stopped by Pooler as well to pick up some sausage rolls, but I only took phone pics. If you are in the area, please try this place! You won’t regret it.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

