Winter Park Sidewalk Chalk Art Festival

30 11 2014

I’ve been pretty MIA in November, because, like a crazy person, I decided to once again participate in NaNoWriMo (50,000 words in 1 month). I did it in 2011 and still haven’t done a first edit of that manuscript. This time I wanted to force myself to work on a story I’ve been thinking of but putting off since mid-2011. Apart from pretty much giving up on life for a month, it’s pretty fulfilling to say – I survived the challenge!

This novel is much longer than my previous; I’m probably only a quarter of the way through. It’s a good start, but I’ll be excited to do something other than work and write for a while.

I did get to go to Winter Park in early November for a sidewalk chalk art festival. I’d never seen one before, and it was fantastic!

winter park 1

First we went to the rose garden:

winter park 19

winter park 2

winter park 3

winter park 5

Then we explored the art. It was right off of Park Ave, sprawling across the sidewalks in the grassy park in colorful, impressive squares.

winter park 15

You wouldn’t believe how many pieces there were. I took more pictures with my cell phone and haven’t uploaded those yet, but even in these you can see it was a good turn out.

winter park 14

winter park 13

winter park 18

winter park 16

winter park 17

winter park 12

I have to apologize in a way for not getting any of the artists’ names. It was a juried show, so you can see the numbers of their pieces, but many of them had names written by their art.

It was a beautiful night in Winter Park, which is beautiful pretty much always.

winter park 11

winter park 9

Haven’t been to the place above yet, but it looked so nice in the lighting.

winter park 8

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

