Mermaid

21 02 2014

image

This was supposed to be a loose sketch of a girl looking out over the edge of a canoe… then it turned into a sort of Little Mermaid and a mirror. It’s supposed to be half submerged under sand…the sand that strangely doesn’t extend into the background. You know how Ariel always finds human stuff and collects it? She’d be a garage sale girl for sure. It doesn’t have much resemblance to the characters since it was all kind of an afterthought, but Flounder is totally wrong. He looks like a bubble.

This type of thing is a "play sketch" to me - very quick and not too serious...

This type of thing is a “play sketch” to me – very quick and not too serious…

....but then if I like the sketch, I might add ink to clean up the lines.

….but then if I like the sketch, I might add ink to clean up the lines.

And then sometimes you add color. Problem here is that I had a sketchbook with very thin paper, really bad for watercolor.

And then sometimes you add color. Problem here is that I had a sketchbook with very thin paper, really bad for watercolor.

I took these with my iPhone since my scanner is still out of commission. It keeps looking too pale, so I tried the “magic wand” edit function on the phone. It’s darker but mainly yellower. Eh…

Flounder: "Ay, check me out!"

Flounder: “Ay, check me out!”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

