A Year Closer to 30

17 05 2013

There’s nothing wrong with being 30, but it’s a little bit of a wake up call to realize that I’ve only got 2 more birthdays until then. I had such a great time at Disney for my birthday (where else?) that I *have* to post about it! Since it’s not art related, in obligatory art news: I sold my first jewelry commission and first international order this week. International shipping is a lot more involved than I thought. Who knew?

As for Orlando…

Lake Eola's iconic fountain

Lake Eola’s iconic fountain

I brought my 50 mm lens with me…first time I’ve ever brought a decent camera to Magic Kingdom. You can’t zoom (in or out, at all) with this set focal length lens, but it works well for low lighting.

look familiar?

look familiar?


This is the rose from Beauty and the Beast! The Beast’s Castle is a new feature in Fantasyland – basically a lunch/dinner restaurant with 3 rooms to choose from. The rose is in the dark West Wing, complete with thunder sounds and lightning.

We ate in the ballroom which was my favorite:

Talk about chandeliers!

Talk about chandeliers!

It was even “snowing” outside the windows, which were made to look like night time.

Small World

Small World


Above is my favorite room from It’s a Small World. Another scene I like:
27bday33

They still do the electrical parade with the same music… my mom got me a cassette tape of the music when I was a toddler, and we’d listen to it on every car trip.

Tinker Bell

Tinker Bell


Alice and Wonderland

Alice and Wonderland


dwarves' gem cart

dwarves’ gem cart


27bday46

By the end of the night, we made our way to the front to watch fireworks:

pretty castle detail at night

pretty castle detail at night


27bday51
27bday52
No Photoshop - the castle was really that blue and the sky that red

No Photoshop – the castle was really that blue and the sky that red


27bday54
Fireworks are the perfect birthday prezzie.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

