Marimo

23 04 2013

Marimo! Marimo! They’re so cute and fun to say! I just recently learned about marimo moss balls. The story is that they’re these algae globs that form into spheres when pushed by the currents in their natural habitats, lakes. In Japan, they’re considered national treasures. Well, I guess certain ones are, yet somehow you can buy them all over the place in America. People call them “pets.” They must grow them in labs….

Anyway, my friend’s birthday just passed, and I had no idea what to get her. She had been on a cat-for-a-pet stint for a few months but ended up not being able to have one since her boyfriend’s allergic. So I thought “I know a pet that would totally work!”

Marimo! So cute. :)

Marimo! So cute. 🙂


Okay, maybe that doesn’t compare to a cat, but still.
Pebbles I bought for its habitat.

Pebbles I bought for its habitat.


So I bought the marimo and a tiny apothecary jar for it to live in with pebbles to sit on. They’re easy to care for; you just change out the water (use bottled or tap that’s sat for a while to air out the chemicals) every week or so.
Getting ready to wash the marimo and change its water. I heard it can get dirty when you squeeze them (do that underneath water, by the way), so I wore gloves.

Getting ready to wash the marimo and change its water. I heard it can get dirty when you squeeze them (do that underneath water, by the way), so I wore gloves.


Squeeze under water, gently.

Squeeze under water, gently.


the marimo in its final habitat...it was a lot bigger than I planned on! Should have gotten a bigger jar.

the marimo in its final habitat…it was a lot bigger than I planned on! Should have gotten a bigger jar.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

