100

20 04 2013

My 100th post! I started this whole thing to give me motivation to do something artistic regularly, which I struggled with because of all my other commitments (day job, social life, family). I’m really glad I did it, but at the same time, there are weeks I really have to push to do the “one post a week,” sometimes against other art commitments. Things like Etsy, paintings people want, personal projects. In other words, I am doing art regularly. Mission accomplished. I still want to continue this blog, but I might not do *every* week. There are bigger and better things going on (like One Spark, see below.)

But in celebration of 100 posts, I did a mini painting this morning:

Black swan art card

Black swan art card


"ACEO" sized art card - illustration board... look how tiny!

“ACEO” sized art card – illustration board… look how tiny!


Coming down from my swan obsession…next I’m doing a mini peacock painting.
Anyway, One Spark is in Jax this week. Went after work to check it out last night. So fun! Everybody local should come out. There’re food trucks, music, art…tons of projects, and you can vote for any of them that you like. It’s crowdfunding, so you can donate $ to the projects you like or, just be voting, those projects have a chance of winning $.
One Spark! Part of Doug Eng's project (#36). Giant vinyl photographs to spruce up our urban areas - Jacksonville has a lot of abandoned buildings these would look great on.

One Spark! Part of Doug Eng’s project (#36). Giant vinyl photographs to spruce up our urban areas – Jacksonville has a lot of abandoned buildings these would look great on.


More of Doug's pictures. How awesome are these? It took 2 weeks to print out all the giant photos.

More of Doug’s pictures. How awesome are these? It took 2 weeks to print out all the giant photos.


I love me some giant animals. This giant floating "rubber duck" is exactly what Hemming Plaza needs.

I love me some giant animals. This giant floating “rubber duck” is exactly what Hemming Plaza needs.


More giant animals! This is the "Rat Queen." The idea is to do a sculpture of each of the Chinese zodiac signs and use them in parades, events, etc.

More giant animals! This is the “Rat Queen.” The idea is to do a sculpture of each of the Chinese zodiac signs and use them in parades, events, etc.


I don't think this is part of One Spark...?..but I'd never noticed this painting above Chamblin's Book Mine before.

I don’t think this is part of One Spark…?..but I’d never noticed this painting above Chamblin’s Book Mine before.


Inside MOCA

Inside MOCA


House made out of shirts!

House made out of shirts!


Anyway, there are TONS of projects. Check it out. It’s going on rain or shine…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

