Swan in a Bottle

23 01 2013

For weeks…weeks!…I have wanted to make a tiny polymer clay animal to put inside one of the glass bottles I bought. At first I tried fish but couldn’t get the fins skinny enough to fit through the neck. Then I thought – swan! But swans, neck to tail, are wider than fish. So finally I bought bigger bottles, and here we are. 🙂

Swans: formed, baked, and painted. Used Sculpey clay, acrylic paint, and Modge Podge for sealant.

Swans: formed, baked, and painted. Used Sculpey clay, acrylic paint, and Modge Podge for sealant.

My attempt at a clay pig in the background...

My attempt at a clay pig in the background…

Fish to add to the swan bottles. I could not get them smaller than this for the life of me.

Fish to add to the swan bottles. I could not get them smaller than this for the life of me.

Used a pigment dye for one of the bottles. When it fully dried, the tone changed from a bit greenish to actual blue.

Used 2 small drops of pigment dye for one of the bottles. When it fully dried, the tone changed from a bit greenish to actual blue.

Swan finally in bottle!...with a really huge fish, in relation

Swan finally in bottle!…with a really huge fish, in relation

Fish in the bottom. For a third bottle I included pond gravel instead of a fish.

Fish in the bottom. For a third bottle I included pond gravel instead of a fish.

It's like Lake Eola in a bottle.

It’s like Lake Eola in a bottle.

These are bigger bottles than I’d normally like for necklaces, but they’re worth doing…I hope. The swans are great fun to make. I didn’t follow any pattern; they’re pretty intuitive. Tonight I wire clipped eyelets and resin-adhered them into the corks, then resin-glued the corks into bottles. I’ll put the finished products on the Etsy site (see sidebar button).

Been making more time for art lately and therefore have sketches, etc. already lined up to post here, but there are only so many hours in the week!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

