Terrarium Project 1

10 10 2012

Months ago, I posted about my attempt at making a dish garden. Since then, some of the denizens sadly didn’t make it. They all kind of died simultaneously, and I’m still not sure what caused it. At any rate, I bought some new editions for replacements:

We have a new agave cactus, aloe plant, and in that empty-looking space I put a leaf that had fallen off of one of the remaining plants and had roots growing out of it. We’ll see what happens.

Weird kind of aloe plant

Here’s a better look at the new aloe plant I got.

Anyway, since I had a hard time with succulents, I decided to try a terrarium. I wandered into this thrift store in 5 Points that was going out of business and selling everything, including these glass fish bowls used to hold small items. I saw terrarium-potential and got a bowl for $1!

washed gravel – a 40 lb. bag of the stuff is $3.79 at Ace Hardware

First, you have to get some gravel. Wash it off to get rid of sediment or contaminents. You also should get some horticulture charcoal to keep the soil “sweet.” I’m not sure, but I think that means mold prevention.

After putting in a layer of gravel, add some charcoal. Next comes potting soil.

I chose a polka dot plant (in the back) and what the garden person told me is a pepperonia plant.

I wanted to add something fun, so I pulled out some old pieces of stained glass that I practiced sautering on and some small gemstones I’d found in North Carolina. Ended up not using the stained glass.

Here they are!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

