80s Throwback

29 09 2012

What’s worse: the fact that I’m cheating by posting another old drawing, or the fact that this shows what a bad toddler-aged artist I was? Cleaning up old stuff, I found this gem inside my old Barbie coloring book:

Page from the Barbie Color & Fun Book, copyright Mattel, Inc. and Golden Books.

Disney’s The Little Mermaid came out when I was 3 years old, and I was so obsessed, I drew Ariel pictures everywhere. That’s what this is supposed to be…. I remember my mindset back then enough to say that the squiggly lines atop the dress are supposed to be ruffles, and the jellyfish looking thing below that is a bow. The “x” marks on the water are supposed to be sparkles.

Ariel and Flounder of my childhood. We all start somewhere.

Does adding color help? As to why I gave Ariel a mangled, oversized arm, I will  never know.

Legit sketch blog art to come soon. Several fun art things in motion now. 🙂

Actions

Information

One response

17 05 2016
Oxana

may I send you the personal message?

Leave a Reply

